YOU ARE HERE: Home > Partners > Industry



Quantel's involvement with industry organisations spans the Broadcast, Post and Film markets. We work hard with them to proliferate technology standards and further the cause of our customers in the eyes of government departments.

If you want to get more information on any of these companies, please see their entry below:

Advanced Media Workflow Association (AMWA)

Advanced Media Workflow Association - AMWA

The Advanced Media Workflow Association, Inc. (AMWA) began in January 2000 as the Advanced Authority Format (AAF) Association, Inc. The organization's name was officially changed in May 2007 to better reflect the direction and scope of the association and its mission statement. With representatives from several major players in the global industry, the AMWA focuses on file-based workflows to benefit content creators including film, television, Internet and post-production professionals. Further details and history of the organization can be found in AAFA History. The AMWA continues its support of the Advanced Authoring Format (AAF), developed to enable content creators to easily exchange digital media and metadata across platforms, and between systems and applications, MXF (which AMWA is a co-creator) and XML. The AMWA strives for three-way compatibility between AAF, MXF and XML.

Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC)

Advanced Television Systems Committee ATSC

The Advanced Television Systems Committee, Inc. (ATSC), is an international, non-profit membership organization developing voluntary standards for the entire spectrum of advanced television systems. Specifically, ATSC is working to coordinate television standards among different communications media focusing on digital television, interactive systems, and broadband multimedia communications. ATSC is also developing digital television implementation strategies and presenting educational seminars on the ATSC standards.

Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union (ABU)

Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union ABU

The ABU is active in EVERY area of broadcasting including: News, Sports, Programme Exchange, Technical Help, Representation, Studies, Training, Publication and Contests.

Association of Independent Creative Editors (AICE)

Association of Independent Creative Editors AICE

The role of the AICE is twofold. For its members: - it develops industry standards and common business practices. - it disseminates information about technological changes. - it maintains a dialogue with suppliers. For the advertising industry: - it represents the editorial branch of the television commercial creative process. - it fosters relationships with advertising agencies and advertisers. - it offers up-to-date procedural information.

BKSTS - The Moving Image Society

BKSTS - The Moving Image Society

To encourage, sustain, educate, train and represent all those who, creatively or technologically, are involved in the business of providing moving images and associated crafts in any form and through any media. The Society is dedicated to the promotion of excellence in these fields. Whilst remaining independent of all governmental and commercial organisations, it is active in fostering co-operation with other societies in the industry and in promoting its aims throughout the world.

Commonwealth Broadcasting Association (CBA)

Commonwealth Broadcasting Association CBA

The association is funded by subscription from members of the major public service broadcasters of the Commonwealth. The main objectives of the CBA are as follows: - Secure funds for training in developing Commonwealth countries for management and broadcasting skills. - Foster freedom of expression and the right to communicate. - Extend the Association's database about members. - Further the concept of public service broadcasting - Provide a point of contact and a forum for discussion.

European Broadcasting Union (EBU)

European Broadcasting Union EBU

The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) is the largest professional association of national broadcasters in the world. Working on behalf of its members in the European area, the EBU negotiates broadcasting rights for major sports events, operates the Eurovision and Euroradio networks, organizes programme exchanges, stimulates and coordinates co-productions, and provides a full range of other operational, commercial, technical, legal and strategic services.

Federal Communications Commission (FCC)

Federal Communications Commission FCC

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is an independent United States government agency, directly responsible to Congress. The FCC was established by the Communications Act of 1934 and is charged with regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable. The FCC's jurisdiction covers the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. possessions.



Established in 1967 as a showcase for broadcasting technology, IBC attracts 40,000 attendees from 120 countries annually. On the show floor are 1000 exhibitors including every major supplier of technology for the creation, management and delivery of entertainment content. And the IBC conference tackles all the key technical, management and creative issues.

National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (Emmy)

National Academy of Television Arts Sciences Emmy

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences was founded in 1957. It is dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy Award.

National Association of Broadcasters (NAB)

National Association of Broadcasters NAB

The National Association of Broadcasters is a full-service trade association which represents the interests of free, over-the-air radio and television broadcasters. NAB is the broadcaster's voice before Congress, federal agencies and the Courts. We also serve a growing number of associate and international broadcaster members.

Royal Television Society (RTS)

Royal Television Society RTS

The Television Society, formed on 7 September 1927, is the only Society exclusively devoted to television and, as the industry undergoes significant change, it stands as a unique, central, independent forum where the art, science, business, craft and politics of television can be discussed by representatives from every branch of the industry. The Society was granted its Royal title in 1966 and now represents over 4,000 members from the entire spectrum of the broadcasting industry.

Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE)

Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers SMPTE

The Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE), is the leading technical society for the motion imaging industry. SMPTE publishes ANSI-approved Standards, Recommended Practices, and Engineering Guidelines, along with the highly regarded SMPTE Journal and its peer-reviewed technical papers. SMPTE holds conferences and local Section meetings to bring people and ideas together, allowing for useful interaction and information exchange.